Track & field

Dordt Invitational 11 a.m. Saturday, April 8, Sioux Center, Iowa

Meet location

Open Space Park
Sioux Center, Iowa


Five Red Raiders Claim Titles at Dordt

Northwestern College athletes won five events and at the Dordt Invitational held today at Open Space Park in Sioux Center, Iowa. 

Cody Bauman won the men's shot put for the second consecutive week while also meeting the NAIA auto mark with a toss of 53-01. Bauman won by nearly five feet and has the fourth best mark in the GPAC, seventh best in the NAIA. 

Calvin Korver and Naomi Schimmel took home the individual title in the men's and women's pole vault, respectively. Korver cleared 11-01.75 and Schimmel cleared 9-04.25. 

Tim Rose led the men's team in running events, winning the 3000m steeplechase with a time of 10:02, second fastest in the GPAC this season. 

The women's 4x100 relay team claimed the team's final first place finish, taking first with a time of 49.24. Relay members include Jahdai Dunk, Jana Vermeer, Devin Bloemendaal and Anna Heusinkveld

In addition to Bauman meeting the auto mark in the shot put, Katie Bosch met the NAIA provisional mark in the 800m, finishing second with a time of 2:15. Bosch is currently seeded second the GPAC and 13th in the NAIA. 

Other Notes:

Anna Heusinkveld placed third in the 200m (26.05), fourth fastest in the GPAC at this point in the season

Kenzie Keune recorded a pair of top five finishes in the hurdles, placing third in the 100m (15.03) and second in the 400m (1:07)

Three Red Raiders, Hannah Paauw, Katie Te Grotenhuis and Katrina Engebretson, finished in the top five and cleared 4-11 in the high jump.

Men's 4x00 relay posted the second fastest time in the GPAC (3:20.41) and finished second in today's race. Team members include Aaron Lemon, Austin Krier, Nathan Wedel and Peter Hollinger

Jackson Johnson finished tied for second in the high jump with a personal-best mark of 6-07; 11th highest in the NAIA and thrid best in the GPAC. 

Northwestern athletes who placed in the top five are listed below:


5.Jahdai Dunk-12.56

3.Anna Heusinkveld-26-05

3.Katie Landhuis-1:00.65

2.Katie Bosch-2:15 (NAIA Provisional)

5.Kassidy DeJong-2:22

4.Emma Van Meeteren-5:15

100m Hurdles:
3.Kenzie Keune-15.03
4.Arika Jacobson-16.28

400m Hurdles:
2.Kenzie Keune-1:07

4x100-1st (Dunk, Vermeer, Bloemendaal, Heusinkveld)

4x400-3rd (Bosch, Oostra, Sorensen, Landhuis)

High Jump:
2.Hannah Paauw-4-11
3.Katie TeGrotenhuis-4-11
4.Katrina Engebretson-4-11

Pole Vault:
1.Naomi Schimmel-9-04.25

3.Hannah Morgan-131-04

3.Candice Howell-140-06


3.Aaron Lemon-49.76

3.Tanner Goetsch-1:58
5.Hans Epp-1:58

2.Tanner Goetsch-16:19

400m Hurdles:
5.Kyle Bakker-58.79

1.Tim Rose-10:02

4x100-2nd (Johnson, Wedel, Wager, Butters)

4x400-2nd (Lemon, Krier, Wedel, Hollinger)

High Jump:
T2.Jackson Johnson-6-07

Pole Vault:
1.Calvin Korver-11-01.75

2.Jake Auerbach-11-01.75

Long Jump:
4.Tanner Hilbrands-20-10.5
5.Matt Hillman-20-10.5

Triple Jump:
5.Tim Wager-40-08.25

Shot Put:
1.Cody Bauman-53-01 (NAIA Auto)

5.Cody Bauman-146-02


Final Results

Jake Auerbach

Senior from Atlantic, Iowa

Austin Krier

Senior from Vermillion, S.D.

Jahdai Dunk

Senior from Whittier, Calif.

Jana Vermeer

Senior from Rock Valley, Iowa

Katie Bosch

Middle Distance/Distance
Junior from Ankeny, Iowa

Cody Bauman

Junior from Inwood, Iowa

Hans Epp

Junior from Giltner, Iowa

Tanner Goetsch

Junior from Spirit Lake, Iowa

Tanner Hilbrands

Junior from Remsen, Iowa

Candice Howell

Junior from Griswold, Iowa

Katie Landhuis

Middle Distance
Junior from Orange City, Iowa

Aaron Lemon

Junior from Mitchell, S.D.

Tim Rose

Junior from Iowa Falls, Iowa

Nathan Wedel

Junior from Yale, S.D.

Naomi Schimmel

Junior from Pinetop, Ariz.

Devin Bloemendaal

Sophomore from Edgerton, Minn.

Peter Hollinger

Sophomore from Algona, Iowa

Hannah Morgan

Sophomore from Rapid City, S.D.

Matt Hillman

Junior from Post Falls, Idaho

Kyle Bakker

Freshman from Hull, Iowa

Katrina Engebretson

Middle Distance
Freshman from LeMars, Iowa

Anna Heusinkveld

Freshman from Springfield, S.D.

Arika Jacobson

Freshman from Brandon, S.D.

Jackson Johnson

High Jump
Freshman from Fort Dodge, Iowa

Kenzie Keune

Freshman from Sioux Rapids, Iowa

Calvin Korver

Freshman from Orange City, Iowa

Hannah Paauw

Freshman from Brandon, S.D.

Emma Van Meeteren

Freshman from Sheldon, Iowa

Tim Wager

Freshman from Huron, S.D.