Football Players Claim Scholar Athlete Honors

Four Northwestern College football players claimed NAIA Scholar Athlete honors as announced by the national office earlier today. A total of 325 football players from across the NAIA received the academic honor.

In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status.

Three Red Raiders, Craig Bruinsma, T.J. Spykstra and Josh Wilson earned the honor for the honor for the second time while junior Joey Novotny takes home the academic honor for the first time.

NAIA Press Release | PDF

Craig Bruinsma

# 6 | Quarterback
Senior from Norco, Calif.

T.J. Spykstra

# 4 | Wide Receiver
Junior from Aurora, Colo.

Josh Wilson

# 28 | Wide Receiver
Senior from Orange City, Iowa

Joey Novotny

# 12 | Outside Linebacker
Junior from Omaha, Neb.