15 Red Raiders Claim All-Conference Honors

Northwestern College had 15 football players claim all-conference honors as announced by the GPAC office earlier today. 

Three Red Raiders earned first team accolades; Levi Ettleman, Levi Letsche and Sam Van Ginkel. Ettleman caught 28 passes for 398 yards and two touchdowns in earning all-conference honors for the third time. The senior tight end was also on the receiving end of five two-point conversions. Letsche, now a three-time all-conference selection and four-year starter at center, anchored an o-line that paved the way for a Red Raider offense that ranked fourth in the GPAC in yards per game (440). Van Ginkel led the GPAC and ranked ninth in the NAIA with 11 sacks this season. The senior was second on the team with 38.5 tackles and totaled a team-high nine quarterback hurries. Van Ginkel, now a four-time first team all-conference selection, closes his career as the GPAC and Northwestern all-time leader with 39.5 sacks.

Three Northwestern players were named to the second team; Cody Buskirk, Josh Treybal and Tanner Machacek. Buskirk, a three-year starter along the o-line, anchored an o-line that paved the way for a Red Raider offense that ranked fourth in the GPAC in yards per game (440). Buskirk takes home the postseason honor for the second time. Josh Treybal, a three-time all-conference pick, posted a team-high 44 tackles, tops among d-linemen in the GPAC. Treybal ranked seventh in the conference with 6.5 sacks this season and closed his career with 13.5 sacks. Machacek started nine games at linebacker as a true freshman. He totaled 31.5 tackles and 3.5 sacks while also recording three quarterback hurries. Machacek forced and recovered a fumble and broke up one pass. 

Nine Red Raiders claimed honorable mention honors, six on offense and three on defense. Jonathan Kodama started all 10 games under center, completing 57% of his passes for 2,697 yards, fifth most in program history, and 17 touchdowns. He ranked third in the GPAC and 14th in the NAIA in passing yards per game (270) and had five games with 300+ yards. Kodama finishes his career in 12th place all-time with 3,721 passing yards and is the single-game record holder for passing yards in a game (486 vs Dordt). Jacob Kalogonis led Northwestern in rushing with 831 yards despite playing in just eight of the 10 games. The freshman ranked fourth in the GPAC in rushing yards per game (104) and posted three 100-yard games this season. T.J. Spykstra led the Red Raiders with 39 catches for 768 yards and six touchdowns in eight games played. The senior ranked 10th in the NAIA in receiving yards per game (96) and  totaled four games with 100+ receiving yards. Spykstra holds the school record for receiving yards in a game (239 vs Hastings) and finishes his career with 70 catches for 1,094 yards. Levi TeBrink ranked second on the team with 36 catches for 567 yards and five touchdowns. TeBrink posted three 100-yard receiving games, including the last two against Doane and Morningside. Reggie Carter totaled 34 catches for 429 yards and two touchdowns while also doubling as the Red Raiders top kick returner with 15 returns for 292 yards. Carter is the third Northwestern receiver to earn all-conference honors. J.C. Koerselman scored six touchdowns and accounted for 269 yards on offense. The junior is also one of the top blockers at the tight end/wide receiver position. 

Nick Acoba is the third member of the Red Raiders D-line to earn postseason honors. Acoba totaled 31 tackles, 4.5 sacks and ranked third with nine tackles for a loss. The senior posted four quarterback hurries and finishes his career with 9.5 sacks. Miguel Alvarado ranked fourth on the team with 35.5 tackles and shared team-high honors with nine passes defended. Alvarado nabbed one interception, forced a fumble and closes his career with 65 total stops. Blake Eichmann accounted for 28 stops and shared team high honors with two interceptions and nine passes defended. Eichmann forced a fumble and blocked one kick. 

Northwestern ended the year in fifth place in the GPAC with a 4-4 league record, 4-6 overall.

GPAC Press Release | PDF

Cody Buskirk

# 65 | Offensive Line
Senior from Bellflower, Calif.

Sam Van Ginkel

# 7 | Defensive End
Senior from Rock Valley, Iowa

T.J. Spykstra

# 4 | Wide Receiver
Junior from Aurora, Colo.

Josh Treybal

# 6 | Defensive Line
Senior from Hartley, Iowa

Miguel Alvarado

# 4 | Safety
Senior from Hull, Iowa

Levi Letsche

# 78 | Offensive Line
Senior from Marcus, Iowa

Levi Ettleman

# 82 | Tight End/Punter
Senior from Logan, Iowa

J.C. Koerselman

# 8 | Tight End
Junior from Boyden, Iowa

Levi TeBrink

# 11 | Wide Receiver
Junior from Le Mars, Iowa

Blake Eichmann

# 27 | Defensive Back
Junior from Rock Valley, Iowa

Nick Acoba

# 1 | Defensive End
Senior from Kahuku, Hawaii

Jonathan Kodama

# 7 | Quarterback
Senior from Sacramento, Calif.

Tanner Machacek

# 25 | Linebacker
Freshman from Sioux Falls, S.D.

Reggie Carter

# 80 | Wide Receiver
Freshman from Bradenton, Fla.

Jacob Kalogonis

# 15 | Running Back
Freshman from Lake Havasu City, Ariz.