Cross country

NAIA National Cross Country Championship 11:45 a.m. Saturday, November 22, Elsah, Ill.

Meet location

Rim Rock Farm
2276 Burnett Lane
Lawrence, Kan.

Host school

Located in Elsah, Ill., NAIA National Cross Country Championship is a member of the Non-affiliated (NA).
Northwestern To Run At NAIA Championship

The Event...The Northwestern College men's cross country team will compete at the 2014 NAIA National Championship, held at Rim Rock Farm in Lawrence, Kan, on Saturday, Nov. 22. The men's 8K race will begin at 11:45am CST. 

NAIA Championship Page

Teams/Individuals Competing...Northwestern will be one of 36 teams competing for the NAIA National Championship, earning one of the 13 at-large bids into the field. There will also be 76 individuals running at the meet. Each team will have up to seven runners competing on Saturday. The list of teams competing is below: 

Aquinas (Mich.)- Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Champion
Baker (Kan.)- Heart of America Athletic Conference Champion
British Columbia- At-Large
Cal State San Marcos- Association of Independent Institutions Champion
Carroll (Mont.)- Frontier Conference/North Star Athletic Association Champion
College of Idaho- At-Large
Columbia (Mo.)- American Midwest Conference Champion
Concordia (Ore.)- At-Large
Eastern Oregon- At-Large
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)- California Pacific Athletic Conference
Embry-Riddle (Fla.)- The Sun Conference Champion
Friends (Kan.)- Host Bid (Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference)
Goshen (Ind.)- At-Large
Indiana Tech- At-Large
Indiana Wesleyan- Crossroads League Champion
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)- At-Large
Marian (Ind.)- At-Large
Morningside (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Champion
Northwestern (Iowa) At-Large
Oklahoma City- Sooner Athletic Conference Champion
Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)- At-Large
Oregon Tech- At-Large
Rio Grande (Ohio)- Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Champion
Saint Mary (Kan.)- Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion
Shawnee State (Ohio)- Mid-South Conference Champion
Southern Oregon- Cascade Collegiate Conference Champion
St. Ambrose (Iowa)- Midwest Collegiate Conference Champion
St. Francis (Ill.)- Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion
Taylor (Ind.)- At-Large
Tennessee Wesleyan- Appalachian Athletic Conference Champion
The Master's (Calif.)- Golden State Athletic Conference Champion
Wayland Baptist (Texas)- At-Large
Wiley (Texas)- Red River Athletic Conference Champion
William Carey (Miss.)- Southern States Athletic Conference Champion
Xavier (La.)- Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Champion
York (Neb.)- Midlands Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion

Last Time Out...Northwestern finished second at the GPAC Championship run at the Wild Oak Golf Course in Mitchell, S.D. on Nov. 8. 

The Red Raiders totaled 64 points and placed second out of 11 teams, its best ever finish at the GPAC championship. Morningside won the men's team title with 44 points. 

Four Northwestern runners finished among the top 15 finishers, led by senior Logan Hovland who placed seventh with an 8K time of 25:39. Will Norris placed 10th with a time of 25:41, followed closely by Skyler Giddings (13th-25:55) and Hans Epp (15th-25:57). Northwestern's final points came from Caleb Vander Baan who placed 19th with a time of 26:13. 

Northwestern News and Notes..The Red Raiders are making sixth overall and first appearance to the NAIA men's national championship as a team since 1993. Last year, Northwestern sent one runner, Will Norris, to compete. Northwestern's best finish was in 1989 where they placed 26th. They also qualified in 1981, 1988, 1990 and 1993. 

Last year, Norris finished 111th out of 300+ runners with a season best time of 26:01. 

Four Northwestern runners earned all-conference honors this season, led by Logan Hovland, who has three top 10 finishes this season. Norris received all-conference recognition for the second time and has two top 10 finishes. Skyler Giddings (1 top 10) and Hans Epp (1 top 10) were the other Red Raiders to earn all-conference.

Northwestern finished the year ranked 23rd in the NAIA coaches' poll. one of two GPAC teams in the top 25 (Morningside).

This concludes the Red Raiders' cross country season.

Will Norris

Senior from Spirit Lake, Iowa

Hans Epp

Junior from Giltner, Neb.